|The Oliver House
224 East Adams Street
Jackson, MO 63755
|The Oliver House (left) is a renovated home from the late 1800’s which has been turned into a museum for the public. It has a rich history, and provides a rare look at home life from 1850-1900. The museum is open to the public during visiting hours, and special tours may also be arranged.||
Photo taken by Randy Reisenbichler of Jackson
|Visiting Hours & Information
May – December
1st Sunday of each month
1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
For information about special tours or events, contact the
Jackson Heritage Association
The Oliver House in the snow
The year is 1881, Robert Burett and Marie (Watkins) Oliver are moving into their recently purchased home. In 1878, Mr. Oliver moved his law practice to Jackson and was elected to serve as prosecuting attorney. The young lawyer was elected to the Missouri State Senate in 1882. His political career brought William Jennings Bryan, three time presidential candidate, to the Oliver House. Mrs. Oliver also gained notoriety as “Missouri’s Betsy Ross,” as she along with a friend designed the Missouri state flag. The sewing kit that she used is now part of the Oliver House’s collection.The museum will be open the first Sunday in May, July, October and all three Sundays before Christmas in December for guided tours at 1:30 p.m.(Note: during December the Museum is decorated in a traditional Victorian theme.)Adults $3.00
Children under age 3 are free.
For more information about special tours, private tours, or special events, contact the Jackson Chamber of Commerce at (573) 243-8131 or (573) 243-3753.